Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default writing ebook in Xara

Hello,

I just wanted to let everyone know the following.

Xara can be used to write an ebook
    . When you use Xara to write an ebook as a pdf for publishing, make sure the font is safe. Dont use to many images or the file will bloat.
    when you export the xar. as a pdf make sure to choose this option: "email distribution or web download". this will keep your file small. If you go with the 300dpi it will make your file so huge.

again this is for those who want to write an ebook that may contain a bit of images and have the freedom to place things where they want them on the page. I tested this and i actually got
    a smaller file than i did with word. Again: to many images will make the file bigger so be restraintful.

enjoy guys.

Default Re: writing ebook in Xara

Great advice.

thanks gwpriester, i wanted to be helpful.

Properez, you are on the right track. I'm an author. There are a lot of ways to make e-books... formats for Amazon, for Apple, for Barnes & Noble. But the best of all is to a make a PDF. Because you have total control over the graphics, the page layout, and the fonts. And your customers get a product that is instantly useful -- with scalable vector graphics if you want, readable on any PC or tablet. And, for self-help books with lots of source hyperlinks, like my Drawing for Money, the PDF format is absolutely perfect.

But even better is that you can sell the PDF from your own website. This makes you the most money. When I started selling books three years ago, most of my sales were from Amazon and Barnes & Noble. But now, I'm at 75% from my own website, which is a goal I recommend to my readers in my book, Self-Publishing Secrets. The internet is a Godsend for e-book authors -- you can cut out the distributors, the middlemen.