Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Thread: map tracing

Default map tracing

Hello, I'm trying decide whether to purchase this software, and if so which version best suits my needs.

I am not a graphic designer.

I have written a manuscript which needs simple black and white maps. In order to avoid copyright issues, I want to download a map image, trace it but modify it so that it is legally different from the downloaded image. (I will reference the source with an, "after image so and so".)

Is this the correct software for this task?

Is what I wish to do difficult?

Default Re: map tracing

Welcome to TalkGraphics.

I think Xara Designer Pro X is perfect for this.

I draw with the Shape Editor Tool see this http://www.xaraxone.com/webxealot/wo...workbook_2.htm

There have been a few other forum visitors who have done the same as you are planning to do and you could do a search on the topic. It would be the export file type and if the manuscript is to be printed professionally I would inquire about as that would alter my choices. What I mean about that is if you don't want to use PDF as your drawing output file type and you haven't stated what ver. of xara you were purchasing you might have a few problems in importing your maps into your DTP programme. All of the Xara products have a good font engine but if you were using it to publish the full manuscript the performance might get sluggish over a certain number of pages if there was a number of maps. If you would like some more info don't hesitate to ask!
    Design is thinking made visual.

Quote Originally Posted by rawegg View Post
    Hello, I'm trying decide whether to purchase this software, and if so which version best suits my needs.

I am not a graphic designer.