Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default I Should Listen To Myself More (Wasted $99 On An Upgrade)

Or I should have at least tried the trial before I paid my money. I've just reverted my Xara back to the previous version as changes in Pro X have made it measurably worse to work with than it used to be. The main culprit is the new Styles functionality within the text tool, which now sees important functions relegated into a fly-out at the very edge of the toolbar. That might be something I could live with if the edge of the toolbar was visible in the layout I've been using for the past 12 or 13 years but it is not, so I was forced to eat into my precious workspace by having two rows of tools.

I can see the Styles being somewhat useful at work, where each of the shows I do graphics for have their own fonts and styles, although even there I have to adjust kerning/tracking and line spacing and those tools are now hidden away in favour of something that I can't see benefiting too many artists at all. The other issue at work, of course, is that we don't use Xara but styles are even less useful in the work I actually do with it. It is something I thought was an anachronism in other applications, a feature nobody had used for years. I think the last time I saw it was in Adobe PageMill, which was discontinued in about 1998.

Anyway, it has just made working harder than it used to be so, after about 6 weeks I've spent trying to get used to it, I'm back on Pro 7. I suppose Xara have earned their $99 over the years but this time I feel that supporting them has cost me more than I had bargained for. It's a shame that the last few upgrades have, for me at least, been one step forward and at least half-a-step back.
    Asus Zenbook Duo, 12th Gen Core i7, 16Gb RAM, Windows 11 (fully updated). bandcamp.novakill.com

Default Re: I Should Listen To Myself More (Wasted $99 On An Upgrade)