Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    151

    Default Using Xara with a CMS - What to do...

    I've just been hacking a XDP design into a content management system (Typo3) as HTML+CSS+JS which required a few changes before it was formatted satisfactory.

    1. Export as web page - duh!

    2. After copying the files to the server and replacing the paths in the HTML source I copied the code from inside the <body> tags into an HTML element in the CMS.

    3. After experimenting with some inline styles I changed the generated code from:
    <div class="xr_ap" id="xr_xr" style="width: 752px; height: 660px; top:0px; left:50%; margin-left: -376px;">
    to
    <div id="xr_xr" style="width: 752px; height: 660px; top:0px; left:20px; ">

    The style "xr_ap" was causing my page to site outside of the container div so I removed it without any apparent detriment.

    4. The generated code was causing the design to sit in the middle of the space between the left of my container div and the right of the browser window, hence causing the design to sit to the right of the container. To get around this I had to delve into the generated JS file to remove this piece of code: "xr_dx=(ww-parseInt(xr_xr.style.width))/2;"

    5. Find a (CMS specific) way to add the script and link tags into the page header for the template for this section of the website.

    Here is the result: http://holocaustmusic.ort.org/index.php?id=1536

    If there are any experts out there who thinks these tweaks might cause problems down the road then speak up, otherwise, I hope this helps others incorporate Xara into their CMS workflow.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Bradford, England
    Posts
    1,829

    Default Re: Using Xara with a CMS - What to do...

    If you have done this then that is amazing, If you can create some sort of tutorial (for us non-tech guys and gals) then you will be the hero of not just this forum but of the whole xara community. Does the page length change dynamically when adding text and can it have a proper blog? By the way wonderfully educational website, some things on there I had no idea about.
    Flawless Form. Faultless Function. Crafted by Cloud

    https://www.cloudwebagency.co.uk

  3. #3

    Default Re: Using Xara with a CMS - What to do...

    The only downside would be hacking each time there is a new or altered page. However, this could be automated somewhat by using an application such as UltraStudio and somewhat with its little brother, UltraEdit--or another good code editor.

    @skech, I would suggest starting a new site from a template and generate the site to disk. Then try following the above instructions. Pretty clear sounding to me and if it includes all the instructions needed, it should work. You would need to install Typo as well.

    Take care, Mike

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Bracknell, UK
    Posts
    8,659

    Default Re: Using Xara with a CMS - What to do...

    Unless I'm mistaken, Xara users shouldn't be too excited about this, because it looks like a victory in parts ( correct me if I'm wrong, Sadler).

    The Xara content is held in it's own div (well, we knew that), and does not contain any typo3 CMS content. So the technique is good for a static Xara design, but really this example is a typo3 page with embedded Xara content, not a Xara page with dynamic content fetched from typo3.

    Don't get too excited that Xara designed text blocks are being replaced by CMS content, etc. - they aren't.

    This doesn't belittle your achievement, Sadler, it's just that when people read about Xara and a CMS they might imagine that the web equivalent of the holy grail has arrived. It hasn't!

    It's a good technique, though if you can make use of it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Bradford, England
    Posts
    1,829

    Default Re: Using Xara with a CMS - What to do...

    That is just a big massive sigh! it looked good, unless sadler can say otherwise
    Flawless Form. Faultless Function. Crafted by Cloud

    https://www.cloudwebagency.co.uk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Kildare, Ireland
    Posts
    906

    Default Re: Using Xara with a CMS - What to do...

    As mentioned it sounds like you are hacking a Xara html page into pieces and putting the pieces into the template files for the cms. What would be better is a cms that allows you to simply use your xara designed pages as they are. A cms that allows you to define dynamic content areas using simple placeholders and tags. A cms that allows you to update and publish design changes straight into the cms with just a click of the publish button. If only such a cms existed
    XT-CMS - a self-hosted CMS for Xara Designers - Xara + CMS Demo with blog & ecommerce shopping cart system.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Using Xara with a CMS - What to do...

    Yes, the above is true.

    However, run-time includes can be added in a div, divs can be added above, below and in between the Xara divs and within the container div. And it should appear seamless.

    It's a hack. Not an integration with Xara. But it should work.

    Take care, Mike

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    151

    Default Re: Using Xara with a CMS - What to do...

    Sorry for getting you excited sketch, but pauland is correct. Only static Xara generated code is embedded within an existing CMS page and only as HTML so no other CMS goodies like link handling or whatever. And all the disadvantages mentioned above, so, no, not a hero at all.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Bradford, England
    Posts
    1,829

    Default Re: Using Xara with a CMS - What to do...

    No matter, it was good to dream for a while.
    Flawless Form. Faultless Function. Crafted by Cloud

    https://www.cloudwebagency.co.uk

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •