Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Squamish, BC, Canada
    Posts
    955

    Default Highlight button when on page

    Hi Folks,

    I know I've seen this on the site somewhere but can't find it. I've created a page that doesn't automatically highlight the button tab when I'm on that page (thereby letting me know where I am). Can someone please give me a clue....the poor mind is wracked with getting this done.....

    Thanks for any help,
    Ed......:-)

    All you have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to you.
    -Gandalf (from Lord of the Rings) - Xara s/w - XDP9

  2. #2

    Default Re: Highlight button when on page

    The default state for Xara navbars is to highlight the current page (button).
    You might be thinking about the special name tweak which disables this, which is the opposite of what you want really.?

    6. If you want to disable automatic highlighting of the link to current page, add the "NoAutoHighlight" name to the object.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,996

    Default Re: Highlight button when on page

    If you use the link to web or email address field then auto highlight will not work. You will need to use the link to field.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Squamish, BC, Canada
    Posts
    955

    Default Re: Highlight button when on page

    Hi Guys,

    Yup, what you're suggested Steve is the opposite of what I'm looking for......and I think I'm already using the link field Drwyd although it's the link to file field which I'm unclear as to how that works. Attached are the folders I'm using, the properties and screen prints of the menus on the different pages....perhaps that will help....

    When I'm on the home page, the tab automatically highlights, when I'm on the calendar page, the calendar tab should highlight but doesn't, not sure why but it's most likely something I'm doing, not DP8's fault I'm sure.....

    Thanks for any help and hope this clarifies.....
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Directorie.JPG 
Views:	35 
Size:	10.8 KB 
ID:	90194   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	menu.JPG 
Views:	38 
Size:	40.2 KB 
ID:	90195  

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Properties.JPG 
Views:	36 
Size:	48.2 KB 
ID:	90196  
    Ed......:-)

    All you have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to you.
    -Gandalf (from Lord of the Rings) - Xara s/w - XDP9

  5. #5

    Default Re: Highlight button when on page

    Very likely a .js conflict causes by the calendar code I'd guess.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Squamish, BC, Canada
    Posts
    955

    Default Re: Highlight button when on page

    Well, if that's what it is I may just make the calendar tab highlight permanently. I think it's essentially the same thing, I just realized that.....possibly a good workaround.....Thanks Steve....
    Ed......:-)

    All you have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to you.
    -Gandalf (from Lord of the Rings) - Xara s/w - XDP9

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,996

    Default Re: Highlight button when on page

    Hi Ed

    I just used your method of linking and that fails to highlight the menu button. It looks like using only the link to field works.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Squamish, BC, Canada
    Posts
    955

    Default Re: Highlight button when on page

    Hey Guys,

    Thanks to both of you for your help so far, it's getting there....as I get older it seems I get slower....

    One more question to do with this. Since when I'm on only this page, I can change the black rectangle to a red rectangle to show up when on that page. The problem I'm having is when I select the rectangle in 'Page & Layer Gallery' I can't seem to select it as shown on the jpg. You can't see it but when I place my mouse cursor over the rectangle, the O with the slash line through it shows up meaning not allowed to edit. I thought I could do this through the layers but apparently not....I think everything is unlocked as it should be for this.....any suggestions?

    Thanks very much,

    Ok, got it guys, had to ungroup the navbar to access the rectangle, change the colour and regroup.....works for me....thanks for all your help.....
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	navbar.JPG 
Views:	28 
Size:	7.4 KB 
ID:	90206  
    Last edited by Karateed; 11 June 2012 at 06:43 PM. Reason: Figured it out.....
    Ed......:-)

    All you have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to you.
    -Gandalf (from Lord of the Rings) - Xara s/w - XDP9

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Placitas, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    26,518

    Default Re: Highlight button when on page

    I like to create a MouseDown layer and add my design for the page high light button to that page. Then the current page button is not the same as the MouseOver button.

    I did the attached for another thread and then added the MouseDown state to demonstrate how the MouseDown adds a page highlight that is different from the MouseOver button.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by gwpriester; 12 June 2012 at 02:05 PM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Squamish, BC, Canada
    Posts
    955

    Default Re: Highlight button when on page

    Interesting idea, thanks Gary.....
    Ed......:-)

    All you have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to you.
    -Gandalf (from Lord of the Rings) - Xara s/w - XDP9

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •