Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default MORE help with color, please?

Sorry, gang - despite your advice, I'm still having trouble coloring in Xara.

Here is a drawing I've outlined with Xara. I'd like the areas outlined in purple to be filled with a lighter shade of purple (how do you lighten a chosen color in Xara?), the areas outlined in deep yellow to be a lighter shade (pastel yellow, actually) and so on:

toonposelast 001.jpg.xar

Please, if some kind person will color this image and tell me every step he/she took, and please be explicit because I am very new to Xara, I would be very grateful. I tried to color this using the shape tool, using the put to back control, etc. Nothing happened. I must still be doing something wrong, but I don't know what. Please help. Thanks!

Default Re: MORE help with color, please?

See attachment which refers to the bottom left corner of the Xara workspace.
    You cannot fill your drawing (excellent though it is) with colours because it is
    just a bunch of lines. They all have a beginning and an end point.
    To make shapes, you start with a beginning point and end back at the same point
    to make an enclosed shape, which will fill with colour.
    Bob.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	colours.png 
Views:	126 
Size:	83.8 KB 
ID:	86724  
    ** Detailed "Create A Spinning Logo Tutorial" is available in .pdf format for download at this link **
    Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog, it's too dark to read. Groucho Marx.

Sunshine Coast BC, Canada. In a beautiful part of BC's temperate rainforest