Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Question about Keyboard Dexterity

I note that in most of the tutorials, the creator appears to be using keyboard shortcuts rather than clicking on the buttons with mouse or pen. I’m an amateur and I use both mouse and pen. I am not a typist (keyboarder) so to use the shortcuts, I have to look, then often release the mouse to use two hands (ctl-K for example). So the question: Are you experts able to keep your eyes on the screen, one hand on the keyboard, and the other on the mouse? – or, do you actually use the buttons but include the keyboard shortcuts in your commentary?
    Just curious Bev

Default Re: Question about Keyboard Dexterity

i don't use a pen, i used one once (a gift) with which i didn't get on at all and have never tried to use one again. when I draw, i do so with my trusty mouse. when i design i do so with mouse and keyboard. i think it's a case of getting so accustomed to your keyboard that you know where the keys are. I am forever zooming in and out and scrolling left and right, and i do so without looking at the keyboard, but for many other functions i click the relevant button with the mouse. i've always struggled with typing and although i have been a keyboard user for at least 25 years (i even have a professional qualification in journalism) i have never been able to touch type

oh wait... you were asking about those who create video tutorials... oh, never mind... i'll go now...

*pills, where are my pills? *

If someone tried to make me dig my own grave I would say No.
    They're going to kill me anyway and I'd love to die the way I lived:
    Avoiding Manual Labour.

Sorry, I should have addressed the question to all of you experts. Yes, I know it's off topic, but I'd been trying unsuccessfully to adapt to keyboard shortcuts.
    Bev

Bev I believe Frank was saying his post was off topic.