Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Not able to fill outlined graphic

I created this simple graphic with a mix of the straight line tool and the shape tool. Any color I drag on to any panel of this hat only changes the background color. I've made sure that all these lines have snapped to the appropriate edges and have tried many combinations of joining shapes and converting to shapes, etc...

I'm new to Xara and have been using Flash for quite some time, and have noticed the vectors don't seem to work the same so I'm not sure this is even possible. Any suggestions are appreciated!
    Attached Files Attached Files

Sunshine Coast BC, Canada. In a beautiful part of BC's temperate rainforest

Default Re: Not able to fill outlined graphic

Hello notJenn, you need a closed shape in order to fill it with colour. As an example I used the shape editor tool and traced around the lines on your hat, when you get back to the beginning of the shape put the cursor over the first node and you will see a plus sign, the lines will join and you will have a closed shape and you will be able to fill it with colour. if you want the lines to show above the colours you can create the colours on a separate layer under the lines layer. I've attached your hat with two sections coloured I just sent the two sections to the back instead of adding the extra layer.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    My current Xara software: Designer Pro 365 12.6

Good Morning Sunshine.ca | Good Morning Sunshine Online(a weekly humorous publication created with XDP and exported as a web document) | Angelize Online resource shop | My Video Tutorials | My DropBox |
    Autocorrect: It can be your worst enema.

So basically, if I want to make the panels on the hat different colors, I need to make them all separate shapes?