Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Exclamation eBook formatting for Kindle

Does anyone have experience in creating eBooks for the Kindle?

Im working from existing Word documents of text & diagrams (the diagrams may be removed).

Can anyone shed any light on the formatting though? Is it a straightforward file conversion from a finished Word document on an A4 page layout or should the text be pasted into something like WD on a specified page size so it is a .html file when complete?

The finished products will be for sale via a website. I don't own a Kindle either, so Im not entirely sure how eBooks appear on them.

Thanks

Default Re: eBook formatting for Kindle

I have no experience, but ironically today I received an email for an e-book that tells you how to create ebooks using Apples pages application. Not much help if you have a windows machine, though.

~Fred

To convert a Word Document (.doc) into a Kindle file (.mobi), I think that you may have to convert it to a .pdf file first. Then you need to use a converter - I use Calibre (free) to make the conversion from pdf to mobi.
    Bob.
    ** Detailed "Create A Spinning Logo Tutorial" is available in .pdf format for download at this link **
    Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog, it's too dark to read. Groucho Marx.

I read a few things which said that the best results aren't obtained from Word documents because of some formatting issues... is this true? or is it overcome by converting to .pdf first?

Also are all the ebooks which are available for download to the Kindle .mobi files?
    I read that it's capable of downloading .pdf files - but Im guessing this isn't the standard format that the books are sold in.

Anyone know if the Word document has to be formatted in a certain way, I mean with regard to page breaks, font, line spacing, margins etc?