Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Default I did something wrong and need help filling in a shape

First, I want to thank Shapeshifter for pointing out that I can create the exact Raven image I want from a photograph he found.

This is my first attempt to trace a photograph. I didn't do too badly , and the final image can be finessed by tweaking. However, no matter how I try to fill in the silhouette, no matter what commands I attempt (such as convert to shape), all that happens when I attempt to set fill color as black is that the line changes color. It's as if the line itself is the shape, if that makes sense.

By the way, I originally traced it with a series of lines and then joined them, as I couldn't do this with one continuous line.

I tried converting to shape and then combining and intersecting, subtracting, you name it, using a black shape behind the lines, hoping to get a black Raven image. But to no avail. What do I need to do to fix this? I'm thinking if I retrace it again, I'll likely make the same mistake(s). I searched for a solution in this forum, but "fill" gets a ton of results.

Attached is a png with magenta for the outline, showing where I traced the photo image. Also attached is the .xar file.

Many thanks.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Raven-in-progress.png 
Views:	110 
Size:	192.2 KB 
ID:	84136  
    Attached Files Attached Files

Default Re: I did something wrong and need help filling in a shape

Simple enough to trace with one line ... honest ... then the shape will fill :-)
    JOHN -XaReg (FB) XaReg (DB - ignore prompt to register)
    Windows 10 [Anniversary] pro Intel Pentium CPU G630 @ 2.70Ghz RAM: 4 GB; 64-bit x64