Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Hey guys, check out THIS tutorial.

It is done in 3DS Max 4, but the knowledge that can be gained from it could be applied to different 3D modeling programs as well.

This is my FIRST attempt at doing a character, other than a praying mantis I did for a project in a college class. I've learned a BUNCH so far, and I'm not very far into the tutorial yet. It also covers much more detailed modeling, texture mapping and creation, skinning and boning for animation, etc, literally a whole book's worth of instruction. A little reading between the lines is helpful, and it's not for the absolute beginner, but I have never seen a more in-depth piece of instructional material, and for free, at that!

Danny Huff

Hey guys, check out THIS tutorial.

It is done in 3DS Max 4, but the knowledge that can be gained from it could be applied to different 3D modeling programs as well.

This is my FIRST attempt at doing a character, other than a praying mantis I did for a project in a college class. I've learned a BUNCH so far, and I'm not very far into the tutorial yet. It also covers much more detailed modeling, texture mapping and creation, skinning and boning for animation, etc, literally a whole book's worth of instruction. A little reading between the lines is helpful, and it's not for the absolute beginner, but I have never seen a more in-depth piece of instructional material, and for free, at that!

Danny Huff

Right on... [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif[/img] thanks for the link Danny... [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif[/img]

Your model looks very nice [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif[/img]

Go Danny......good work [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif[/img]

Stu.