Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Default Aligning website to suit mobile application

Hi,

I am afraid I am very new at this, but have found XWD(6) to be a fantastic piece of software but am completely confounded by an issue I have.

I have written a website, which when uploaded to my local web address (e.g. www.myfreewebspace.andylegg..etc etc) looks fine, on every browser and platform.

The problem I have is that when I ask my domain name service provider to point a more appropriate domain name at my local files (e.g. www.andylegg.com) they do so by embedding my website in an "invisible frame" and it is once this is done that when I view it on an Ipad or mobile the entire website is shoved hard to the right, leaving a very wide (in this instance) black margin all along the left hand side.

I have spoken to them and they claim it is a website optimisation issue, which was no help.
    Other websites (written on frontpage) seem to work fine, centrally aligning on the Ipad and phone so I think it must be something I have done / have not done on XWD.

I used the XARAtweaks6 pack, and put one page "Left hand aligned", which cured the Ipad, but of course, this shoves the the entire page hard to the left when viewed on an normal PC which looks pretty rubbish IMHO.

The website I have used is the standard 955px wide.

I know there must be some "auto align" code out there, but can I find it?...I cannot !
    I'm not even that worried if the page does not resize, I just want it to appear centrally aligned.

Please help.

Andy

P.s.

I've just written another very simple one pager, with design applied, just a simple blank 955px page with a red square centrally place.
    Again if I use a web-divert domain name on it, (which uses an "invisible" frame) the page still aligns far to the right, so a big left hand margin.
    Last edited by Andrew Legg; 18 May 2011 at 05:34 PM. Reason: Add info

Default Re: Aligning website to suit mobile application