Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Default PayPal vs Merchant Account

Pros and Cons?

If merchant account, which do you recommend?

- jb
    - jb

"A little knowledge is a wonderful thing - sometimes."
    www.brownpotters.com

Default Re: PayPal vs Merchant Account

I've been using PayPal for 5 or so years and have never had a problem with them. I do a minimum of $3k in sales a month with them. There's no monthly fee and their rates are competitive with a merchant account. I have a PayPal mastercard/debit card which I can use anywhere MC is accepted and the cost is debited directly from my account and I'll receive an email almost immediately about the purchase. I also have their security key. What happens is when you log in, it prompts you for the number generated by their security key. This is added protection in case your login is ever compromised, they'll need your security key to log in. Been using that since they came out with it as I generally have a good chunk of money in my account at all times, plus the PayPal account is linked to my bank account. Transfers to/from your bank account are free.

I know some people have had problems with PayPal, but, I'm a happy camper with them and have had very few complaints filed by clients and I'm generally proactive on complaints. Most of my complaints are from people that have had their accounts compromised and I'll just refund the purchase when I find out about it, which haven't been that often, maybe one or two a year. If you are working with a client on a design, etc, I doubt you'll have to worry about that, generally it's just purchases that the public can make where the item is then immediately available.

authorize.net is a popular merchant account that I know some of my clients use for processing credit cards. They've been around for ages. Couldn't say much more about them positive or negative.
    Chris
    LotsMoreHosting.com

Tks, Chris - appreciate the reply. - jb
    - jb

www.brownpotters.com