Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Thread: basic question

Default basic question

i have no background in web design and i'm doing this on the fly.

when i preview my page, the page has an outline (the middle part where all the stuff is). how do i get rid of that.

also, what if i don't want a middle part where all the stuff is? i just want the web page content to encompass the entirety of the screen without any borders defining the background and the page content.

i want to edit the whole screen, no background borders.

thanks!

Default Re: basic question

Web designs are generally of a fixed width, so there are normally margins either side if the browser window is wider. This is normal practice to ensure that the page is seen as designed and doesn't change according to the browser window size. Xara software produces these fixed width designs.

Using other software it is possible to have designs that occupy all the available area. They are much harder to produce and generally avoided by experienced designers and often requested by Newbies.

As a newbie, go for fixed width designs, centered in the browser. As an experienced developer, you'll probably make the same choice.

Welcome to TalkGraphics

If you hold down the Ctrl key and drag and drop a color onto the page, this will be the background for the entire window. The shadow will not appear when you preview or publish the page.

If you find the color palette a bit limited, select a rectangle and edit the color in the Color Editor to the desired shade, hue, etc.

Hold down the Ctrl key and drag the small preview square in the Color Editor onto the page.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	drag-n-drop.png 
Views:	94 
Size:	156.0 KB 
ID:	79735