Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default How to apply clipview without to merge the two layers?

Hello friends,

I am a beginner in Xara Photo & Graphic Designer 6. I am trying to apply the clipview tool without to merge the two layers.

I have 2 layers, with 2 different objects on both. When I apply the clipview, the two are merged, and the 2 objects becomes 1. Is there some way to prevent this, please?

Thanks again!

Default Re: How to apply clipview without to merge the two layers?

Thread moved to: Xtreme & Xtreme Pro - Photo & Graphic Designer - Designer Pro forum

Quote Originally Posted by ewsg View Post
    Is there some way to prevent this
    No, the ClipView must be on the current layer, active layer, the container and the contents.
    You can try to use Apply soft group;.... you can select many objects on many layers then apply soft group.

From xara Help file:
    Soft Groups and Layers
    Soft Groups are unusual because they are groups of objects that can span different layers. (Normal groups have to be contained within one layer). When you select any part of a Soft Group the other parts are also selected, even if they are on hidden or locked layers. The Page & Layer Gallery will show all selected items highlighted in blue, but in the case of Soft Groups these items may be on other layers that you've not expanded, and so are not immediately visible
    Im in love with Xara X / BP
    Friends, I apologize for my broken English
    My TG Albums: http://www.talkgraphics.com/album.php?u=20432

Hi ewsg

Why do you want to prevent the "merging"?

The two shapes are still individual objects. You can select them individually in the Page & Layer Gallery and edit them pretty much any way you like. You can press click while you select either object and move it around without disturbing the other one.