Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    22

    Question WD6 Closing popup layer

    I have a hidden popup layer named "test00" (that contains a text message) and a "link" that uses "javascript:my_close('test00')" to close the popup layer. BTW: this proceedure works in WD5....

    In WD6 the close(link) properly closes the "test00" layer object but the text message is still visible.

    Does anyone know how to close a popup layer so that all of the layer content is closed as well? -- Grouping everything does not work.

    Ron

  2. #2

    Default Re: WD6 Closing popup layer

    Hi Ron,

    The procedure has been much simplified in WD6 which makes the WD5 tweak redundant.

    WD6 method:
    The URL has to be "popup:close" when the button is on the layer that has to be closed.
    Otherwise: "popup:close "layer name" "

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Ukraine
    Posts
    3,904

    Default Re: WD6 Closing popup layer

    Do not use WD5 tweakset with WD6.
    The locking pop-up layers are implements directly in WD6 without any snioppets required.
    To make layer a locking layer simply add "(lock)" to it's name.
    To close locked layer with the objecs placed on this layer, place following in the URL field of this object: "popup:close"
    To control other layers use following command:
    popup: open "layer1" "layer2" close "layer3" "layer4"
    Where layer1 .. layer4 are actual layer names as stated in the gallery.
    Also if you have some layers referred but this commad they are converted to pop-ups so you don;t have to refer them the usual way as you had to with the locking tweak.
    John.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    22

    Default Re: WD6 Closing popup layer

    Thanks John;

    That's fantastic -- and makes everything so much easier.

    Ron

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    145

    Default Re: WD6 Closing popup layer

    Hi John,
    Quote Originally Posted by covoxer View Post
    Do not use WD5 tweakset with WD6.
    The locking pop-up layers are implements directly in WD6 without any snioppets required.
    To make layer a locking layer simply add "(lock)" to it's name.
    To close locked layer with the objecs placed on this layer, place following in the URL field of this object: "popup:close"
    To control other layers use following command:
    popup: open "layer1" "layer2" close "layer3" "layer4"
    Where layer1 .. layer4 are actual layer names as stated in the gallery.
    Also if you have some layers referred but this commad they are converted to pop-ups so you don;t have to refer them the usual way as you had to with the locking tweak.
    can you make a simple example please, because it would be easier for me to understand. I have trouble to control the locked layer from a link on the mouseoff layer.

    Sebastian

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Ukraine
    Posts
    3,904

    Default Re: WD6 Closing popup layer

    Here's the demo.
    One thing I have not mentioned. If you use extended syntax (with layer names), the layer names should be all lower case.
    This will be changed in update.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    • File Type: web 1.web (4.1 KB, 268 views)
    John.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    145

    Default Re: WD6 Closing popup layer

    Hi John,
    Quote Originally Posted by covoxer View Post
    Here's the demo.
    One thing I have not mentioned. If you use extended syntax (with layer names), the layer names should be all lower case.
    This will be changed in update.
    thank you for your example and your hint with the lower case names (the first char of my layer names was upper case).
    Is it right, that the "open" can be ommited?

    Sebastian

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Ukraine
    Posts
    3,904

    Default Re: WD6 Closing popup layer

    Yes. With extended syntax, all layer names that follow the starting "popup:" or any instance of the "open" are opened. All that follow the "close" word are closed. If the "close" word is not followed by any layer names, the attempt is made to close current layer - that's basically the way simplified syntax works: "popup:close".
    You can conbine them freely. For example:
    Code:
    popup: "layer1" close "layer3" open "layer4" close "layer5" close
    John.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Beaverton, OR
    Posts
    3,267

    Default Re: WD6 Closing popup layer

    John:

    Would it make any sense to have a "Popup:CloseAll" command?

    [Update, additional ideas]
    1- "Popup:Close *(lock)" ... allow ? or * wildcards in the command
    2- "Popup: CloseAll, NOT specificcharacterstringinalayername(lock)" ... close all but a specific layer(lock)
    Last edited by jclements; 11 April 2010 at 05:24 PM. Reason: Additional Suggestion

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Ukraine
    Posts
    3,904

    Default Re: WD6 Closing popup layer

    Interesting idea.
    I can implement it with a tweak.

    EDIT
    Tweak is attached.
    Drop it on your page.
    Enter following in the link field of the button:
    Code:
    javascript:my_CloseAll();
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by covoxer; 11 April 2010 at 05:13 PM.
    John.

 

 

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •