Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: "Flatten" Image

Default "Flatten" Image

I'm new to Xara (and this forum) and am trying to make a web page of a composite image I made with XX5. I used several layers, some of which had transparency gradients applied, but when I exported to jpg, png -- any bitmap format -- I did not get what I saw on the screen. Sometimes I got the message that the transparency type (probably the gradient) is not supported by the bitmap. I am attaching an exported image (first) and a screen grab (second) to show what I mean.

I suspect XX is converting each layer to the bitmap format before combining the layers, rather than combining the layers first then generating the bitmap. XX must perfectly capable of doing the latter, however, as it does so in order to generate the screen image.

Can anyone give me a suggestion? Xara's tools are fast and powerful, but not very useful if I can't get what I see on the screen when I export an image.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20-30sComms.jpg 
Views:	152 
Size:	72.4 KB 
ID:	70112   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	XX5ScreenGrab.jpg 
Views:	173 
Size:	69.0 KB 
ID:	70113  

Default Re: "Flatten" Image

Marquee select and then export usually works fine, but have you tried soft-grouping before you export?
    You might like to attach your .xar file for us to check?

PS: If this is web based question, you have posted in the wrong forum.
    Since the release of Web Designer in March 09 and then Xtreme 5 in June (with Web Designer integration), it became necessary to split the forums to avoid confusion and unnecessary reading for members who were not interested in Web related topics and discussions.

Web related topics are best be posted and discussed in one of the sub-forums of the Talk Web category.

Graphics related topics are best posted in and discussed in one of the sub-forums of the Talk Graphics category.

Thanks