Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Default Very newbie questions - but I can't find answers.

Hey guys,

Okay, I realize this may make me seem retarded, but I can't figure out how to add to a line after I've drawn it (without connecting shapes). I draw a line, but when I try to add to the line, it simply draws a new line. I don't want that. What am I doing wrong?

Also, the line erase function (holding shift), does not work for me. I hold shift to try to erase a line I've drawn, and nothing happens. What's the deal?

I have a near mastery of Illustrator, but I can't seem to work the basic functions of Xara. Feel free give me a smack.

Btw, I'm using a Wacom tablet, if that makes a difference.

Default Re: Very newbie questions - but I can't find answers.

if you are using the freehand tool - position the cursor over the node at the end of the line [which must of course be selected] that you wish to join to - you should see a cross appear, click and draw

the shift key erase only works if you have not stopped drawing the line in question [ie not let go of the left mouse button or tablet equivalent] - once you have, it is no longer an option

congratulations on having ' near mastery of illustrator' and welcome to TG
    -------------------------------
    Nothing lasts forever...

Near mastery is probably an overstatement, but I have a functioning knowledge of Illustrator.

Anyways, thanks for the quick response. However...

I tried what you said, positioning my cursor over the end node over the selected line segment, and there is no crosshairs. I zoomed to 8000% and I still couldn't see it. I clicked and drew anyway, with the line selected, and it started a new line.

The eraser function works, at least, so thanks for helping me with that.

It's probably me. There's something I'm missing. But it's really frustrating to be stuck on such a basic function.