Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rulers

Default Rulers

If you are a complete novice like I am and want to draw a straight line with the Shape Editor Tool make sure you turn on the rulers (CTRL-L) in order to get both ends of the line at the same vertical position. I don't know how much time I wasted trying to make a straight line without the rulers.

Default Re: Rulers

If you press CTRL whilst drawing the points with the shape editor it will constrain the angles as set in the options. Typically if you are near enough horizontal/vertical, it will constrain the angle to horizontal/vertical. Much better than using rulers.
    Keith
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    There are 10 types of people in this world .... Those who understand binary, and those who don't.

Or, you could turn on the Rulers, drag down a horizontal guide, switch to the Layer where you want the line, then click two points on the guide. Voila!

Similarly, if you want a line of a specific length, you can drag out two vertical guides the desired distance apart and use the intersections of the horizontal and vertical guides for your start and end points. To set the positions of the vertical guides, go to Layer Gallery | Guides layer | Properties | Guides tab, or just rightclick on the individual guide and choose Properties.

Snap to Guides is turned on by default (Windows menu). If you've turned it off, you may want to turn it on again for this operation.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	guide_snap.png 
Views:	261 
Size:	44.3 KB 
ID:	61578  

Quote Originally Posted by ss-kalm View Post
    If you press CTRL whilst drawing the points with the shape editor it will constrain the angles as set in the options.
    Yes, that's correct for the Shape Editor.