Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default XXP4 really takes the work out of simple 3D

I mean that seriously. Xara Xtreme Pro 4 really takes the work out of the limited amount of 3D I ever have to do. I design for a living but the nature of my work, or maybe the nature of the market I work in means I very rarely use the 3D apps I have in my collection. I haven't used Bryce or Truespace in an age, or X3D for that matter, although I have it installed.

I recently posted an image in a thread about making text look 3D and as an exercise, discovered how easy it is to create what used to be a very lengthy and tedious effect. Well I've been playing again and have come up with this. Although there's still a problem with perspective, it satisfies my limited needs and, frankly, looks damn good considering it required no 3D skills (working in 3 dimensions can be very challenging):

http://i598.photobucket.com/albums/t...ara/XXP4-1.png

I know it's not a vector image, but as long as you stay in XX4D you can resize it, manipulate it however you want and you'll still retain the effects (because of course it contains Live Effects). People spend a lot of time bemoaning the variety of functions missing from XXP4, but I am still impressed with what they have done and continue to do with good old Xara.
    Last edited by Big Frank; 24 March 2009 at 11:42 PM.
    If someone tried to make me dig my own grave I would say No.
    They're going to kill me anyway and I'd love to die the way I lived:
    Avoiding Manual Labour.

Default Re: XXP4 really takes the work out of simple 3D

I'm just psyched someone invoked trueSpace. I bought v5 many years ago, before I got drawn in by the joys of Rhino. I rarely hear anything about it.
    "You can't be a real country unless you have a beer and an airline - it helps if you have some kind of a football team, or some nuclear weapons, but at the very least you need a beer." -- Frank Zappa