Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hi guys...

I've been using Xara for a few months and generally I'm very pleased with it. It was recommended to me by a fellow rhino user and it is from this package that most of my input into Xara comes from.

My problem however is the import filter for AI which is the only obvious choice for porting graphics from one to the other. Elements such as layer colour, layer etc do not import and also dimensions get blown apart visually (yet still grouped...) I also get an error message when attempting to do this import.

I understand that importing these files into Illustrator works fine and therefore I think the problem is not with the export of the file but rather the import.. Can anyone at Xara shed any light on the matter?

Cheers

K.

Hi guys...

I've been using Xara for a few months and generally I'm very pleased with it. It was recommended to me by a fellow rhino user and it is from this package that most of my input into Xara comes from.

My problem however is the import filter for AI which is the only obvious choice for porting graphics from one to the other. Elements such as layer colour, layer etc do not import and also dimensions get blown apart visually (yet still grouped...) I also get an error message when attempting to do this import.

I understand that importing these files into Illustrator works fine and therefore I think the problem is not with the export of the file but rather the import.. Can anyone at Xara shed any light on the matter?

Cheers

K.

andalucía · españa and lower saxony · germany

That's one of the minor glitches of the *.ai import filter, which is based on the different Adobe standards... The Rhino developers seem to use the latest standard, which isn't fully supported by Xara. However, ungrouping the objects and move the dimension text to the correct position shouldn't be such a big problem.