Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Painter 8 versus Painter X

I'm an absolute digital painting beginner.

I have a copy of Painter 8. As a newbie would I gain much by upgrading to Painter X?
    Or is the difference insignificant enough that I should hold off until version 11?

Thanks for your help.
    IP

Default Re: Painter 8 versus Painter X

Wow, I sure posed a tough question!
    IP

Hi Mistywindow, I only have Painter IX so I can't say if X is a big improvement on 8 or not, but apparently the new bristle brushes are supposed to be pretty good. Corel aren't famous for making each new version that much better than the previous release, but two releases on I think there might be enough to justify moving up. As a newbie to the program though, it might be better to become more familiar with 8 first
    Welcome to the forum, and someone is sure to be along to answer your question more fully.
    Saludos,
    Bob.
    Last edited by iamtheblues; 29 July 2008 at 10:36 PM.
    ** Detailed "Create A Spinning Logo Tutorial" is available in .pdf format for download at this link **
    Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog, it's too dark to read. Groucho Marx.
    IP

Thanks for that Bob, I've installed a trial version of X and from my ill-informed point of view it doesn't seem to much different to 8 apart from the bristle brushes. So I think I'll save my pennies at least until I'm a bit more familiar with what I've got.
    IP

I too am in the same boat. I just figured I'd take a stab at 8 and if it was something I found I really liked and needed than I would consider upgrading if necessary. My neighbor uses it to color her comics and she really likes Painter but she does say that it takes a lot more time to produce the color comics as opposed to the B&W ones.
    IP