Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default WYSI-not-exactly-WYG (XXP4)

Or am I doing it wrong? (Before I go any further, I freely admit that artistically I am a rank amateur with scant experience of creating web pages, but I am a great and loyal Xara fan of many years standing.)

I attach (top image) a screen capture of a Xara file made to see if the WYSIWYG claim is really true -- done more so that I could say "Wow, how cool is that!" than as a serious test of any kind -- and (bottom image) a screen capture of the resulting HTML export as displayed by FireFox 2.0.0.14.

The major difference is that the outline of the large text across the circle in the XAR file is not reproduced in the HTML file (and, to be honest, I would have been amazed if it had been).

Nevertheless, it's pretty damn impressive, but (unless I'm doing something wrong) Xara cannot, hand on heart, claim that it's WYSI-exactly-WYG, as per the nice lady in the movie.

I'm very happy to be shown wrong, as I would really like to be even more amazed!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	XAR file.PNG 
Views:	279 
Size:	18.3 KB 
ID:	48016   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	HTML file.PNG 
Views:	280 
Size:	12.8 KB 
ID:	48017  

Anton

Default Re: WYSI-not-exactly-WYG (XXP4)

I got the same results when I just created the same example and viewed it in IE7Pro. However, if you FIRST convert the text with the yellow lines to editable shapes, then it exports and is viewed correctly, with the yellow outline.
    -=Bob=-

Quote Originally Posted by -=Drifter=- View Post
    However, if you FIRST convert the text with the yellow lines to editable shapes, then it exports and is viewed correctly, with the yellow outline.
    Yes, correct, but the movie doesn't say or suggest that you may have to implement one or two fixes/workarounds/whatever to get WYSI-exactly-WYG -- it's actually quite explicit.
    Anton