Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Airbrush please?

Can we have a proper airbrush? The one in the custom brushes selection drives me up the wall. An airbrush is about laying down subtle shades of colour one over another, but with this, everytime you use it the colour reverts back to purple! Argh! You have to put down a purple line then choose your colour everytime, not the intuitive way an airbrush should work.Try putting down an airbrush stroke and then adjusting it with feathering...argh!

O.K., O.K. I know Xtreme is a vector program, but there is no reason why a vector program shouldn't have a proper airbrush.

I freely admit I'm a bitmap artist looking in from the outside. I look at the 'mindset' of vector artists and I think "why must everything take a dozen steps, when one or two will do?"

Look at gradient meshes, goodness gracious me what a lot of 'fiddling' around for airbrush effects. O.K. the results can be impressive, but it seems many people just use it for tracing bitmaps the hard way!

How much simpler to have a true 'vector airbrush'? Lay down a stroke just like painting with the freehand path or draw a path in any way you choose and then have full editability over the stroke.

Sorry about the whinging, I've had my moan now, I'll just stick to colouring in Photoshop and grumble to myself until the next time I need a rant LOL!

Default Re: Airbrush please?

That is a lot of whinging.

A good airbrush tool would have to be a bitmap function. If you think about it, a vector airbrush would have to spray hundreds or thousands of tiny sub-pixel sized vector objects. This is not to say it cannot be done. But it seems to me this would be more effective as a bitmap function.

Does anyone know of a good Photoshop compatible plugin that might work in Xtreme Pro?

Gary

Sorry, I'm just in a moaning mood LOL!