Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Flowcharts

Question Flowcharts

I'd love to be able to use Xara for some simple but publishable flowchart diagrams. I'm totally new to Xara, but from what I've seen so far, I love it's feature set.

In looking thru the archive, it appears other people have wanted to do the same thing. Just curious if anyone has created the basic shapes required. I'm coming from non-vector drawing programs and just starting to learn xara so I was hoping not to have to reinvent the wheel on all of them.

Failing that, are there any good tutorials for combining objects to create basic shapes such as a disk or print symbol?

Thanks
    A New Xara User
    Ed

Default Re: Flowcharts

Once you make the basic shapes, and they are all very basic, you could create a custom clipart folder (like the one covered in Workbook 43 in which to save these shapes. Then when you want to create your flowchart, you can drag and drop the symbols from the gallery onto your chart.

Or you can create a page with all your symbols and drag and duplicate the symbols as needed (drag and right click to drop a duplicate). You can save the page as a template then open the template from the File > New... menu option.

Gary

Flow charts are great educational tools, and I use them a lot in some of the classes I teach. Never thought of doint them in XtremePro, but sounds like a great idea.

Are you planning basic flow charts, electronic charts, or some other specialized chart types?
    ---
    Will
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	FlowChart Symbols.jpg 
Views:	361 
Size:	37.9 KB 
ID:	33855  
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by WolfMoonHP; 03 January 2007 at 03:46 PM.

If you have Microsoft Office in Version 2003 you can use the AutoShapes. There are a lot pedefined ones like Arrows, Flowchart-Symbols and so on.