Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    2

    Thumbs up I want to be able to record cable tv to my pc hard drive???

    Hi, i just recently got a cable connection and want to know how i can connect it to my computer so that i can record onto my hard drive?

    Help much appreciated...

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: I want to be able to record cable tv to my pc hard drive???

    i know it's probably not the right forum to ask this question...

    but you clued up graphics guys must be able to help me out?


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Greenfield, WI USA
    Posts
    3,441

    Default Re: I want to be able to record cable tv to my pc hard drive???

    -=Bob=-

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,659

    Default Re: I want to be able to record cable tv to my pc hard drive???

    Quote Originally Posted by -=Drifter=- View Post
    Yep you need some capture card and maybe you are lucky and
    your graphicscard can capture too.
    Mine did, but I found out too late and stuck with the seperate
    capture card, also a hauppage, for pinnacle has had it for me,
    not because of the capture card, which wasn`t bad, but because
    of the studio 9 software.

    But the thing is, get a capturecard with inbuild mpeg2 capturing,
    otherwise your CPU will have to do a lot of work.(the link Drifter gave
    is such a card.)
    be aware, not to become a ware.
    I am trying to form a dime'ant.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,716

    Default Re: I want to be able to record cable tv to my pc hard drive???

    TV capture is such a minefield. I've had Pinnacle and Hauppauge cards and both were dreadful. The user interfaces are horrific and stability variable.

    I recently got a Compro card. While not perfect, it's a lot closer than the above mentioned makes. So I recommend checking them out.

    If you cable system has an s-video out, then an s-video cable to the input on the card is best. But it probably won't have s-video out, so then you'll need to run from a SCART socket on the cable box. You will then need a converter to convert the signal for the s-video input, or get a card with a composite input (which is what I use on my Compro).
    I'd start a revolution, if I could get up in the morning.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,659

    Default Re: I want to be able to record cable tv to my pc hard drive???

    Quote Originally Posted by AntonyF View Post
    TV capture is such a minefield. I've had Pinnacle and Hauppauge cards and both were dreadful. The user interfaces are horrific and stability variable.
    Yep, but tweaking some settings did miracles, atleast with the pinnacle card.
    The capture software was simple and good, the problem started when I tried
    to use Pinnacle studio 9 for the capture, so I stuck with the simple one
    which came with pinnacle.

    I recently got a Compro card. While not perfect, it's a lot closer than the above mentioned makes. So I recommend checking them out.
    Hmm I will google on that name, but it all depends on the hardware
    one card works fine in one computer on the other it stinks,
    I have noticed.

    If you cable system has an s-video out, then an s-video cable to the input on the card is best. But it probably won't have s-video out, so then you'll need to run from a SCART socket on the cable box. You will then need a converter to convert the signal for the s-video input, or get a card with a composite input (which is what I use on my Compro).
    NOt everyone has a cable box, some just have an analog signal.
    But S-VHS I use because I have a S-VHS videorecorder and S-VHS
    does give a nice clean picture.

    But I will look at the card you mentioned. Who knows, there could
    always be better cards.
    be aware, not to become a ware.
    I am trying to form a dime'ant.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    414

    Default Re: I want to be able to record cable tv to my pc hard drive???

    I have been using a "Ledtech Winfast TV2000 XP" card for the last 6 months and really like it.
    Easy to use, easy to set up (Just a coax cable from the card to the cable box) Tune it in to pick up the correct channel and you're away laughing)
    Also was one of the least expensive available.
    Picture quality is the same as on my TV which is excellent.
    Does tend to slow my PC a little when recording but so does anti virus updates as well

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    1,091

    Default Re: I want to be able to record cable tv to my pc hard drive???

    I use ATI graphics card and tv card. We have Direct TV (satellite) split with receivers in three rooms. In addition, my desktop computer also is connected to the cable.

    With Windows XP Media Center Edition, I regularly record TV shows that others in my family have no interest in seeing.
    ---
    Will

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Dunoon, Scotland
    Posts
    4,123

    Default Re: I want to be able to record cable tv to my pc hard drive???

    In one of my computers it is set up as a media Centre and with one of Hauppauge digital cards it works with Sky in the UK. Can record most channels and watch from desktop don't use it very much as I prefer to use the TV and Sky + to do the watching and recording but the feature came with the PC so I sometimes use it.
    Design is thinking made visual.

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •