Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 15 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 149

Thread: Xara beta bugs

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    2,538

    Default Xara beta bugs

    Well since I got here first I will have the liberty of posting this thread, as I think it will benefit us all. If you find any bugs please post here.

    First bug (I'm not sure this is a bug but still): When working on multipages if I create a shape that is outside of the page it will not be visible on the other page, and if I drag it down it will disappear from the previous page as if cut down. See screen shots.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	img.jpg 
Views:	617 
Size:	49.5 KB 
ID:	32155  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    2,538

    Default Re: Xara beta bugs

    Another thing:

    Maybe it was done on purpose, but: The line width are translated to the measurement I am currently working in: If I work in pixels the line width will be given 1.33, 0.67 instead of 1 and 2, which is not only confusing but also irretating.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	img.jpg 
Views:	600 
Size:	15.9 KB 
ID:	32156  

  3. #3

    Default Re: Xara beta bugs

    Quote Originally Posted by Availor View Post
    Well since I got here first I will have the liberty of posting this thread, as I think it will benefit us all. If you find any bugs please post here.

    First bug (I'm not sure this is a bug but still): When working on multipages if I create a shape that is outside of the page it will not be visible on the other page, and if I drag it down it will disappear from the previous page as if cut down. See screen shots.
    I'm pretty sure this is designed to be that way. Otherwise you wouldn't know what was supposed to be on what page.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    11,830

    Default Re: Xara beta bugs

    Avalior,

    From Charles list of other improvements:
    • The line width shows widths in pixels if your page units are pixels (the list of widths will be improved before the final release)
    Egg
    Endangered Species
    HP xw9400 W/S / 2 x Dual Core AMD / RAM 32 GB / 120 GB Kingston SSD / 500 GB HDD / ATI Radeon HD 5450 / Windows 7 / 64 Bit /

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    421

    Default Re: Xara beta bugs

    Those using hardware DEP still need to add Xtreme Pro and "XPE Pro" to their list of exceptions in order to be able to load the program... I think that Xara X was OK, but X and Xtreme had the same issue.

    I originally posted this in August 2004 at http://www.talkgraphics.com/showpost...4&postcount=10 ... the list of programs in there is quite an exclusive one with only Skype having invited itself to the private Xara party
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	XXP DEP.png 
Views:	649 
Size:	23.2 KB 
ID:	32165   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	XPE DEP.png 
Views:	651 
Size:	23.3 KB 
ID:	32166  


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,380

    Default Re: Xara beta bugs


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Bracknell, UK
    Posts
    5,897

    Default Re: Xara beta bugs

    You can apply a mold to a text box. It does work, but the UI is kinda funky since you will be typing invisible text into a square box, but when the box loses focus, the text will (usually, but not always) appear in the mold-ed text. If the added text doesn't appear inside the mold, removing the mold makes it appear once more.
    Last edited by pauland; 16 November 2006 at 04:59 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    421

    Default Re: Xara beta bugs

    Quote Originally Posted by bb2 View Post
    Theres are KB articles regarding harware that supports DEP
    Indeed, and as soon as each piece of Xara software is added to the exception list, it all works. Xara's is the only software I've seen which requires it though.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,716

    Default Re: Xara beta bugs

    Quote Originally Posted by Availor View Post
    First bug (I'm not sure this is a bug but still): When working on multipages if I create a shape that is outside of the page it will not be visible on the other page, and if I drag it down it will disappear from the previous page as if cut down. See screen shots.
    In the print world you wouldn't be able to do something spanning two separate pages vertically, nor can you in Xtreme. Each spread is distinct, so you can't have objects overlapping both.

    Of course you can overlap horizontally, for example two pages in a spread.
    I'd start a revolution, if I could get up in the morning.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Felton, DE, USA
    Posts
    463

    Default Re: Xara beta bugs

    So far, fantastic upgrade.. but... default template is ignored on startup. I change mine to US letter with rulers and object attributes set a certain way, (saved as default) but each time I restart it defaults back to 800x600, no rulers, etc. I have to select new template to get what I saved as default.
    I'm sure this will be fixed.
    Glenn

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •