Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Creating a Hexgrid for a board game

Hi, all. I am a new Xara user. I am also relatively new to illustration programs in general; I have tended to use things like Adobe LiveMotion to create my web graphics (see http://www.desperationmorale.com for examples). As you can imagine, there is a lot for me to get used to (and, alas, the manual is not the best--there were a lot of basic things that I found only in the tutorials, such as how to slice part of a photograph out of it).

So, if you clikced on that URL above, you'll notice that I am an aficionado (and designer) of stuff related to a World War II board game called Advanced Squad Leader.

In fact, I will be designing a historical module for this game based on the 1944 Warsaw Uprising, when the Polish underground heroically (but tragically) rose up against the German Army in the summer of 1944.

I have completed all the research for the map; now I actually need to go about creating it--or at least a playtest version of it that I can use for now.

This is not something I have ever tried before. However, ASL maps are not incredibly complicated. I have provided some examples below.

http://www.heatofbattle.com/images/FF11_nt.jpg
    http://www.classicwargames.com/o/ima...20Map%2006.jpg
    http://www.warfarehq.com/asl/asl_oob...icades_map.jpg
    http://www.kmistudio.com/ASL-starter-kit.html
    http://www.wargamer.com/reviews/asl_...ritable_03.jpg

So, what I need to do first is to be able to create a hexgrid for a 22" x 32" map. This means a hexagon pattern for the entire map, with a small round white dot in the middle of each hexagon (for line-of-sight tracing purposes). I presume it should be its own layer.

This is where I would like some advice. I had hoped that Xara would have some sort of pattern generating tool so that I could automatically create a hexagonal pattern, but it doesn't seem to have one.