Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Printing Seperations in Xtreme?

Does anyone know why this was dropped in Xtreme? This is a necessity for pro users.

I love the program...but this was NOT a good idea.

Default Re: Printing Seperations in Xtreme?

This link may answer your question. http://www.talkgraphics.com/showthre...ht=separations

Post #5 is from Charles Moir, the CEO of Xara Ltd.
    Soquili
    a.k.a. Bill Taylor
    Bill is no longer with us. He died on 10 Dec 2012. We remember him always.
    My TG Album
    Last XaReg update

Unfortunately, it does answer my question. I'm a Screenprinting Graphic Artist. I started a long time ago with CorelDraw 3 (long, long time ago) and eventually became a Freehand user. Within the last year or so, I discovered Xara X1 and then upgraded to Xtreme. I find that I really LOVE using Xtreme...but without the ability to print seperations to burn screens...dissappointing. I really thought I found MY perfect program. I'll just keep wishing.

Thanks!

On Earth for A Little While / With Christ for Eternity

Hey GF, You need to find the last version of Xara called XaraX1. It has spots & CMYK printing. Nice to know there are others here at TG working in the textile print industry. Thanks for stopping in & posting.

For now you'll have to use layers to do your Xtreme seps. With X1 I've been able to use CMYK seps about 50% of the time, substiting print colors with CMYK. Other jobs are better done using the layer technique for print (1 color black, the rest white). Less than 10% of Xara created work (that I do) has to be channel seperated in PhotoShop. This percentage of using outside programs is going down, as I tend to design with Xara Sep in mind.

If you can't get hold of X1 then you'll have to wait for the Xtreme Pro version to be released. Don't know the timeline for this but my guess is that it'll be sometime next year (2007). Perhaps someone from Xara Group Ltd will step in give us a time frame.