Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Thread: Photoshop bug?

Unhappy Photoshop bug?

Hi Everyone,

I am making an add for a friend of mine. And because I have no experience with printing I'm carefull. So I'll use Photoshop to make the final image. Now what's happening:

I started a new drawing in Xara Xtreme. And as Zee suggested changed the color model to CMYB and % (does this mean I'll only use CMYB colors or is is it just a way of showing the color's I'll use?, PS shows if a color is in the right colorspace).

I import an aps file for the logo (it's awfull..) and change the color to some sort of green (just one green for the whole add). Change the display to show CMYB colors (light green changes to dark green).

After doing the add I saved it and export it to PDF. In Acrobat the image looks fine. But after importing it into PS CS2 it looks weard. The letters show diffrent colors of green. Does anybody have any suggestions.

I do have the source files but they are a bit big.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	posting_xara_clip.jpg 
Views:	328 
Size:	66.9 KB 
ID:	23637   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	posting_PS_import.jpg 
Views:	325 
Size:	15.3 KB 
ID:	23638  

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	posting_Acrobat_view.jpg 
Views:	317 
Size:	12.2 KB 
ID:	23639  

Default Re: Photoshop bug?

Hi Frits,
    Xara works using RGB colours and exports RGB colours in your PDF file so when you take this file into PS the colours are not the same. When you have your ad the way you want it Export it as a CMYK tiff file at 600 with no LWZ compression. You will need to play around with the colours a little bit to get the exact green that you want as greens draken slightly when exporting.

Look at the recent topic heading "Working in CMYK" by Zee that will give you a good starting point.
    Last edited by Albacore; 19 February 2006 at 09:56 AM.
    Design is thinking made visual.