Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default How to change color in a gel button?

Hi all,

I'm new to Xara and I find it very interesting. Infortunatly, after viewing the video and tutorial from Xara, I can't change the color using the color editor and hue color bar with gel buttons. I really don't understand what's up. I'm french and my bad english is probably not helping me... Peraps I'm not selecting correctly the objects/shape? Any suggestions are welcome top help me to find the good ways. Thanks

Default Re: How to change color in a gel button?

The Xara movie in the 'Colours' section, "Using Tints" may help.

The gel button is made using linked colours. It has a main 'parent colour' and uses shades and tints of that parent colour. When the parent colour is changed, the tints and shades that are linked to it adjust as well.

To create a new 'parent' colour, in the colour editor, there is a button, 'New named colour.' Use the colour editor to make the gel button the colour of your choice, then name that new colour "Button 1" (or whatever name you like)

When making shades (darker) or tints (lighter) colours in the gel button make them shades and tints of the parent colour you created "Button 1"

Hope that helps a bit.

-Bob.

Here's a gel button that you can easily change colours.

In the colour gallery, you will find the named colours of each button. Edit that colour and the button's colour will adjust.

If you want to add another button with it's own unique colour. Just copy a button, paste it in a new document and make it the colour you want. Copy button and paste it back in your original document. You will find a new named colour for that button. You can rename that colour 'button 5' if you choose.

-Bob.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Bon Jour Lahoreh and welcome to the Xara Conference

Your English is sure better than my French.

So, a picture is worth a 1000 words (in French or English) :-)