Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

hello,

I am new to Xara X1. Normally i use Flash MX. I have drawn a vector image and now like to fill it with the fill tool (the bucket). This won't work. In flash you can trace or draw you're image and then fill up between the lines with the fill tool. What am I doing wrong???

hello,

I am new to Xara X1. Normally i use Flash MX. I have drawn a vector image and now like to fill it with the fill tool (the bucket). This won't work. In flash you can trace or draw you're image and then fill up between the lines with the fill tool. What am I doing wrong???

You can only fill closed shapes. If the shape is closed select it and just click on the colour you want to fill it with. The fill tool only affects the type of fill - linear,circular etc.

Christine
    Christine

Software: XDPX9, WD9,WD10,XDPX10,WD11,XDPX11,XDP365

Thanx Christine,

With select you mean select it with the white arrow tool thing or with the fill tool.

I know it's a stupid question but i don't have time to search it out, i'm on a deadline with my vector.

Yes, Christine means the Selector Tool, the arrow pointer.

And to add to her point. A shape created with any of the drawing tools must have the last control point connected to the first control point.

The Fill Tool only works with closed shapes.

One quick way to close a shape is to select it with the Selector Tool,, switch to the Shape Editor Tool (the tool that is the third one from the top), click on either of the open end points to select it, the press Enter.

Now you can apply any of the fills listed in the Fill Type drop down list.

For a more indepth look at drawing shapes see WebXealot #7.

Hope this helps.

Gary
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	open_and_closed.gif 
Views:	245 
Size:	3.8 KB 
ID:	12940  

thnx,