Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: "Cropping"

No, I'm not a farmer!
    I have begun using Xara to create graphics for the websites I design at work. I need to know what is the best way to "crop" images?

I have used the technique of placing a shape over my desired image, selecting the shape and the image, then intersecting them. However, many times I get a fuzzy edge when I save as a bitmap
    (gif or jpg, but I don't see it until it is on the website. I end up taking the raster image into ImageReady and using its crop tool.

My goal is to eventually do everything graphically possible in Xara for my web design, but I keep having to fall back onto my "Adobe" crutches!

Any tips or tutes out there for me?

Many thanks!

Gary V.
    "I'm not an artist, but I play one on the internet!"

No, I'm not a farmer!
    I have begun using Xara to create graphics for the websites I design at work. I need to know what is the best way to "crop" images?

I have used the technique of placing a shape over my desired image, selecting the shape and the image, then intersecting them. However, many times I get a fuzzy edge when I save as a bitmap
    (gif or jpg, but I don't see it until it is on the website. I end up taking the raster image into ImageReady and using its crop tool.

My goal is to eventually do everything graphically possible in Xara for my web design, but I keep having to fall back onto my "Adobe" crutches!

Any tips or tutes out there for me?

Many thanks!

Gary V.
    "I'm not an artist, but I play one on the internet!"

but, perhaps you could try cropping the graphic on the same colour background that you will be exporting the graphic to.

I know that you need to do this when creating transparent GIFs or you get a fuzzy edge. Perhaps this is true of cropping too. It's worth a try.

J [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_razz.gif[/img]