Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

I'm new to this, but I think my first attempt at creating glass has turned out ok. It's not quite finished but I thought I'd post it here anyway. It took me about 4 hours using trueSpace3.1
    Last edited by Big Frank; 16 April 2009 at 12:22 PM.
    If someone tried to make me dig my own grave I would say No.
    They're going to kill me anyway and I'd love to die the way I lived:
    Avoiding Manual Labour.

I'm new to this, but I think my first attempt at creating glass has turned out ok. It's not quite finished but I thought I'd post it here anyway. It took me about 4 hours using trueSpace3.1
    Avoiding Manual Labour.

Not bad Frank. I did an ashtray like that myself awhile back.

Nice work Frank! Looks pretty good. I think the shadow for the ashtray may be a bit on the too dark side...no transparency on it. Makes it look like there's a hole in the table. If you lighten it up a bit and let the grains in the table show through, the realism will be more pronounced.

[img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif[/img]

T

Can't figure out how to do that. If I drop the intensity of the one and only light source it affects all the shadows of all the objects. Any clues?
    Avoiding Manual Labour.

andalucía · españa and lower saxony · germany

Frank,

great job for the first attempt! You might play with the refraction index - the glass looks somewhat weird. And maybe remove the reflection of the class - if this is possible in your app.

Glass ** IS ** a tricky issue, but if you keep going you'll master it soon.

See the scene below for glass effects and try to achieve the same effect. I know it requires a lot of twisting, tweaking and lightning, but the result is worth every minute you spend on transparent and translucent objects.

jens
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bardolino.jpg 
Views:	584 
Size:	56.0 KB 
ID:	18211  
    --------------------//--