Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

1st post, so hi to everybody!

i'm quite new to vector graphics and just purchased freehand, 'cause i also work with fireworks, dreamweaver and flash and felt comfortable ... but the i discovered xara x which i never had heard of before and got the impression that many effects can be achieved much easier and look better right from the start.

what is your experience comparing xara and freehand? what can one prog do the other can't or do it better(i don't need to do work for print).

freehand plus:
    - perspective grid
    - masterpages
    - multipage layout

xara:
    - ?

thanks!

1st post, so hi to everybody!

i'm quite new to vector graphics and just purchased freehand, 'cause i also work with fireworks, dreamweaver and flash and felt comfortable ... but the i discovered xara x which i never had heard of before and got the impression that many effects can be achieved much easier and look better right from the start.

what is your experience comparing xara and freehand? what can one prog do the other can't or do it better(i don't need to do work for print).

freehand plus:
    - perspective grid
    - masterpages
    - multipage layout

xara:
    - ?

thanks!

Just about anything.

Welcome to the Xara Conference cyberdao

I'm not sure how familiar with FreeHand you are, but if you are pretty familiar and are sniffing around to see what is so cool about Xara, you might want to try one of the Xara tutorials in The XaraXone and then try to recreate it in FreeHand (lots of luck :-)

I have reviewed FreeHand and am reasonably proficient in it. FreeHand can apply one kind of very limited tranparency, and only to flat vector objects. Xara can apply transparency, in about 9 different kinds with about as many operations, to anything, bitmap, vector object, type, and all of the above.

FreeHand can create a SWF movie from a blend. Xara can create SWF images but no movies.